How are Patient treated through Ayurveda

Ayurveda has its own procedure for dealing with disease and patient. First of all diagnosis is done by inspection (दर्शन), palpation (स्पर्शन), and interrogation (प्रश्‍न). The specific examination includes the standard eight-point examination: (1) pulse, (2) urine, (3) stool, (4) tongue, (5) eye, (6) skin, (7) speech and voice, and (8) general appearance. These eight examination is done to find out the, particular disease is due to vitiation of which Tridosha.






1. Pulse

Thread­like, feeble, 

snake­like motion 

Moderately heavy, 

and jumps like a frog

Heavy, slow, 

flows like swan

2. Urine 


Drop of sesame oil 

spreads on the surface  

of urine gives:

Black–brown color



Wave­like movement

Dark brown color



Multiple colors, like 


Cloudy appearance



Pearl like droplets

3. Stool


Uniform, dark color

Yellowish color

Bulky foul smell

4. Tongue


Black to brown, dry, 

coarse, furred, pigmented

Red, yellow, or green,

 soft, sharp, moist

Whitish color, pale 

coated, big, soft.

5. Eye


Small, conjunctiva, muddy, 

iris is dark gray or brown

Moderate size, sharp, 

more sensitive to light

Large, moist, oily, 

conjunctiva is white

6. Skin


Dry, coarse, wrinkled,


Wheat color, copper like color, shiny, moist

Soft, off-white, smooth, moist

7. Speech and voice

Coarse and dry



Before this I would like to enter into Charak Samhita (One of the 3 great triads). Here, four component of disease management are described. They are; first, the Physician, the drug, the patient and the attendant. A physician must have proper training, knowledge, and experience. A remedy must be abundantly available, effective, and relatively safe. A patient must provide all information to the physician about the disorder and be compliant. An attendant (a nurse) must have the knowledge of patient care, dexterity, loyalty, and cleanliness.

How actually the patients are cured?

First of all if there is the imbalance of Tridosha, it is balanced by using different herbal formulas, dietary and lifestyle interventions to bring dosas back into balance. Next is to eliminate the serious worry (Chinta), and and nurturing the soul to regain spiritual health (Samana). Ayurveda equally focus on physical health, mental health and spiritual health. This is the beauty of Ayurveda. Further more management of illness primarily consists of four procedures: (1) cleansing (samsodhan), (2) palliation (samsaman), (3) rejuvenation (kaya kalp), and (4) mental and spiritual healing (sattvavajaya, or psychotherapy). The management of an illness starts with cleansing and includes five procedures called panchakarma, all of which are not necessarily done at the same time or to all patients.

Leave a Comment