Yogic Chakras and Astrology| Chakra-Astrology relation

As it is well known to all the yogis that, “Chakras are centers of spiritual energy.” It is correlated as nerve plexus with the modern science. However  its not just nerve plexus. Spiritual subject are beyond science. Here; lets approach yogic chakra and Astrology with their relation.

Besides our ‘outer birth chart’ relating to the physical body is an ‘inner birth chart’ of the astral body that reveals the life pattern of our soul. The main factors that make up the astral body are the seven chakras from the root to the crown. The chakras have detailed astro­logical equivalents in Vedic astrology, which has its own special way of examining the astral body through the birth chart.

Our inner Sun of Prana moves up and down the spine and the chakra system along with each breath, traversing our inner zodiac along the way. Each breath constitutes a day for our inner Pranic Sun, with our inhalation as the day time and our exhalation as the night time. This is the astrological basis of Yoga Pranayama techniques that aim at moving the awakened or spiritually energized Prana up and down the spine during the practice. If we can do this, then each one of our breaths will have a great power for activating the chakras and arous-ing the Kundalini, the serpent power that opens the chakras, and which itself is the awakened energy of our inner Pranic Sun.

Not only the Sun but all the planets move through our subtle body or inner zodiac. They can be located in the chakras of the subtle body and their corresponding signs of the zodiac. The six chakras or energy centers of the astral body reflect the seven planets and the twelve signs that they rule. This sequence follows the orbits of planets around the Sun from the Sun as the third eye or head center, with the Sun and Moon considered as two aspects of one planet in terms of sign and chakra rulership.

Chakra Planet Solar Sign Lunar Sign
1. Third Eye (Ajna) Sun/Moon Leo Cancer
2. Throat Chakra (Visshuddha) Mercury Virgo Gemini ‘
3. Heart Chakra (Anahata) Venus Libra Taurus
4. Navel Chakra (Manipura) Mars Scorpio Aries
5. Sex Chakra (Svadhishthana) Jupiter Sagittarius Pisces
6. Root Chakra (Muladhara) Saturn Capricorn Aquarius

The Sun and Moon are well known in yogic thought as the right and left eyes of the Cosmic Person (Purusha) and relate to the two petals of the third eye center (Ajna chakra). They show our consciousness in its masculine and feminine, or will and feeling sides as activated through the right and left, the solar and lunar, pingala and ida nadis that traverse the entire chakra system from the base of the spine to the nostrils.

Mercury is the well-known ruler of speech and intellect, which relate to the throat chakra. Venus relates to love and affection and to the heart chakra. Mars rules the navel or fire center, our energy, drives and passions. Jupiter rules the reproductive system and the creative energy, our potential to expand. Saturn rules elimination and support and is the coarsest of the planetary influences, our potential to con­tract and the root chakra. Rahu and Ketu, in their role of shadowing the Sun and Moon, relate to the ida and pingala, the left and right nadis.

The ancient Vedic yoga and the solar religions of the entire an­cient world speak of the resurrection of the Sun out of darkness, or the building up of the circle of the Sun. This is the process of taking our life-force and intelligence, our soul or inner Sun, out of the cycle of ignorance, death, time and breath and into the superconsciousv breathless states. It can be approached in several ways. Yogic practices direct the prana or life-force through the different chakras with man­tra, pranayama and other energetic practices. Meditation or knowl­edge teachings Qnana Yoga) build up the different aspects of direct perception. Devotional teachings (Bhakti Yoga) approach the chakras through the worship of or devotion to different deities.

2 thoughts on “Yogic Chakras and Astrology| Chakra-Astrology relation”

  1. Very interesting Roshan: sometime I use astrological medicine in my work, to treat patients.
    I’m enthusiastic of this yours.


Leave a Comment

Namaste and Greetings. I have started a new personal blog drroshan.com.np . Please join me on this blog.